Maritime Statutes

As one of the most intricate bodies of law, maritime law consists of several statutes (or legislations) that govern all resources, commerce, accidents, and offenses that pertain to or that transpire in navigable waters. These statutes regulate commercial marine operations, crew member rights, Shipowner liability, and several other procedures both domestically and internationally, and when violated, are the basis by which maritime lawyers can file a maritime claim.

Cases related to maritime statute violations can pertain to a wide range of matters, including the failure of cruise line operators to provide a safe onboard environment, the maintenance and cure rights of seafarers, and the extent of a state’s jurisdiction. Though numerous legislations encompass maritime law, below are some of the most commonly applicable statutes when handling maritime cases.

  • The Jones Act

The Jones Act is a United States federal statute that was passed, in part, to protect those who work on vessels in navigable waters. It allows maritime workers to recover compensation in the event of injury while in the service of their vessel.

Learn more about the Jones Act statute.

  • Cruise Vessel Security and Safety Act of 2010

The Cruise Vessel Security and Safety Act of 2010 was enacted to help protect cruise passengers from harm on the high seas and inform travelers of their rights following onboard accidents and crimes.

Learn more about the Cruise Vessel Security and Safety Act of 2010.

  • Admiralty Statute of Limitations

This law offers insight into the amount of time in which maritime accident victims have to file a claim.

Learn more about the Admiralty Statute of Limitations.

  • Death on the High Seas

This statute was created with the intent of providing the loved ones of those who have succumb to fatal maritime-related injuries with a resource by which to bring a claim against those responsible for the death of their loved one.

Learn more about the Death on the High Seas statute.

  • Federal Judiciary Act

The Federal Judiciary Act establishes the jurisdiction of Judicial Courts in the United States. When filing a maritime claim, it is imperative to work with an experienced maritime lawyer who can determine which court is best to file your claim under.

Learn more about the Federal Judiciary Act.

  • State Special Maritime Criminal Jurisdiction

Each state has specific laws that govern maritime activities. The State of Florida operates under certain guidelines when handling criminal maritime infractions.

Learn more about State special maritime criminal jurisdiction.

  • Limitation of Liability Act

Are you the owner of a vessel involved in an accident in navigable waters? If so, you may be able to limit damage claims pertaining to an accident if you had no prior knowledge of an issue regarding your vessel.

Learn more about the Limitation of Liability Act.

  • Provisions Limiting Liability for Personal Injury or Death

When a maritime accident transpires that results in bodily harm or fatality, the Limitations of Liability Act may not provide protection.

Learn more about the provisions limiting liability for personal injury or death.

  • Shipowner Contractual Statute of Limitations

Like the victims of a maritime accident, Shipowners have a certain amount of time in which they can file a claim pertaining to an injury or death at sea.

Learn more about the Shipowner Contractual Statute of Limitations.